Salamanca Markets, Tasmania

2 Jun

The Salamanca Markets in Hobart, are a Tasmanian icon. They seem to carry the same fame as QLD’s Eumundi Markets as a must do for tourists, drawing in hundreds of visitors every weekend. Salamanca market is a mix of farmer’s market, local artisan and general market stalls. The farmer’s market offers beautiful produce fresh from the people who grow it. What better way to buy your fruit and veg?

I got 2 of these huge punnets of strawberries for only $4. The most delicour strawberries I have ever eaten.

We got 2 of these huge punnets of strawberries for only $4. The most delicious strawberries I have ever eaten.

There are many stalls selling handmade products or locally produced food items admist some pretty fantastic food trucks. What to choose? We want to try everything! It’s a dilemma I wish I had when I’m starving at shopping centres, I hate food courts. Our strategy is for each of us to order something from a different place and we sample each others. Our lunch consisted of a salmon sausage burger, a Persian lamb wrap, ice cream washed down with chocolate chai, coffee and local ginger beer. We also grabbed some gorgeous apricots and jam filled doughnuts for later.

IMG_0028

There are more than 300 stalls here and at least triple the number of patrons. That was what I didn’t like. There were so many people that we felt like we were on an overloaded bus. I missed stalls that I wanted to look at simply because I couldn’t get to them. We walked along like a herd of cows, it kinda killed the atmosphere. We were there during the school holidays so I hope that is the busiest it gets?Anyone else have thoughts on this?

IMG_0035

This was taken from outside the market, showing the old sandstone buildings of Salamanca.

Salamanca Market is held every Saturday 8:30am to 3pm at Hobart’s Salamanca Place. Arrive early for the best pick of the fresh produce and a parking space. Don’t forget to explore the shops in the alleyways of Salamanca Place. There are many gems to be found.

IMG_2965

One Response to “Salamanca Markets, Tasmania”

  1. Veganopoulous July 3, 2014 at 7:01 pm #

    I went to the Salamanca market in April last year on a cold windy day and about a third of the stall holders stayed home because their stock may have been damaged. I’d love to go back but the crowds would be tough in the nicer weather. If I was on my own I wouldn’t mind so much but with children in tow I would barely get to look at anything 🙂

Leave a comment

