Op shop haul from Tasmania

16 Feb

Recently we had the absolute pleasure of exploring a good chunk of Tasmania. I love so many things about this island state that I could happily move there if it wasn’t for the cold. Cold weather and I are not friends. As always in our travels we seek out every market we can find and pop into every op shop we pass by. Here’s a visual feast of just some of our secondhand buys.

Found this bag for $8 at Cygnet Market, then daughter promptly stole it.

Found this bag for $8 at Cygnet Market. Daughter promptly stole it.

Glass bead earrings $2. Love these!

Glass bead earrings $2. Love these!

I couldn't believe my eyes when I picked this paper bead necklace up in an op shop in Burnie for $1 after just admiring them and chatting the the artist herself at The Markers Workshop just up the road.

I couldn’t believe my eyes when I picked up this paper bead necklace in an op shop for $1 after just admiring them and chatting the artist herself at The Makers Workshop just up the road in Burnie.

Glomesh Bag is great condition. I especially love the chain on the strap.

Glomesh Bag in great condition. I especially love the chain on the strap.

Such a cool book for imaginative kids and only $1

Such a cool book for imaginative kids and only $1

Yes that's me! Hello. Driving from Hobart to the West coast of Tassie it suddenly became very cold, 9 degrees and raining sideways. I didn't find any snow jackets but did unearth this warm two tone scarf for $4 from a country op shop.

Yes that’s me! Hello. Driving from Hobart to the West coast of Tassie it suddenly became very cold, 9 degrees and raining sideways. I didn’t find any snow jackets but did unearth this warm two-tone scarf for $4 from a country op shop.

Beautiful beaded clutch from Launceston.

Beautiful beaded clutch from Launceston.

You know that saying, you never know what you could find in an op shop? Well its entirely true! I was a little beside myself when I found this red back spider costume in an op shop in Wynyard for $3.

You know that saying, you never know what you could find in an op shop? Well it’s entirely true! I was a little beside myself when I found this red back spider costume in an op shop in Wynyard for $3.

So there you go, what do you think? It’s always thrilling to shop like this on holidays but also restricting. I have to be constantly reminding myself about baggage restrictions and putting the larger items back on the shelf, sigh. What do you buy on holidays?

As much as I love sharing our adventures, hauls and reviews of the places we go I must admit to being a very slack blogger. I simply lack the time (or dedication?) to write the damn things. I constantly write posts in my head, does that count? I am however an avid Instagram poster. So follow us here for pics of all our hauls and a sneak peek at us.

Leave a comment

