OP SHOP – The Salvos Warehouse, Seven Hills

8 Jan

The Salvos AKA The Salvation Army really know how to do thrift. They offer us Hunter Gatherers massive warehouses full of second-hand goods to pick over. They also jumped on the pop up shop trend with their Salvonista concept in order to snare more customers and make them think differently about op shopping. I’ve written before about the Salvos warehouse at Michinbury, today I’ll be taking you on a tour of their Seven Hills warehouse.

IMG_2832

This is my local, so I tend to go there A LOT. The store used to be in Blacktown a couple of years ago. I had a bit of a panic when I heard it was closing down but then found out it opening just down the road for me! Truth be told sometimes I hate it being so close. Too often I find myself stopped at the traffic lights looking directly at the store thinking, I’ve got an extra 15 minutes, I’ll just pop in for a quick look and then find I’ve lost a whole hour as I’m lugging armfuls of stuff back to the car.

IMG_2839

The Seven Hills warehouse is not quite as big as the Michinbury one but still has ample stock to sift through. There is a much smaller selection of furniture on offer here even still I have found some great pieces including a vintage telephone table upholstered in green velvet. I love buying books here. The staff have organised the books into categories and will even offer to help you look for a particular book you are after. Clothes are neatly hung on a mass of racks in the middle of the store, sorted by gender, type and even colour coded. You’ve gotta love the organised people who work at this store.

IMG_2837

The Salvos Warehouse is located at 183 Prospect Highway, Seven Hills.

Open Mon-Fri 8.30am-4pm and Sat 8.30am-1pm.

They will accept donations to their loading dock at the rear of the warehouse.

IMG_2835

Leave a comment

