The Salvos Warehouse, Michinbury

31 Jul

The Salvation Army’s branch of op shops are called Salvos Stores and some are much bigger than others. The warehouse/depots are huge and require a committment of at least a couple of hours to really scope everything. The warehouses stock furniture, books, homewares, clothes, shoes, bags, manchester, toys, light fittings, DVDS and well just about everything. As well as setting aside the time to visit one of these stores I’d also recommend that  you also dress warm, especially in the colder months as the concrete floors and the vast openness of the warehouse makes it feel like you’re inside a fridge.

IMG_0646

If you are looking for a piece of furniture, the Salvos warehouses are a great place to start. I’ve purchased lots of pieces that I’ve upcycled with a coat of paint or new handles. They also stock a fantastically huge range of books. I can spend ages in the book section scanning all the spines and adding more novels to alarmingly long list of books to read. If you are an avid reader then you truly must buy your books second-hand, it will save you a fortune!

salvosinterior

If you plan on scouring the endless racks of clothes then grab yourself a little trolley, trust me, you’ll need it. I always go through and grab everything that catches my eye and then proceed to sift through my pile. This is my trolley before culling. The G Star Raw t-shirt is in new condition and only cost me $4.50.

IMG_0650

My daughter was thrilled with the orange crocheted top (below) I got for her with tags still attached. Op shops are a great place to look for vintage serving ware too. Old tea cups with matching saucers are quite sought after now and priced accordingly. I’m always looking for vintage cutlery to use as serving ware. This bone handled knife will be perfect for a plate of scones and let me tell you, someone has sharpened its edge to within an inch of its life!

spoons

This Salvos actually has two stores. The main warehouse and a Bargain Basement store at the rear of the property. This store is much smaller than the first and sells only bric a brac, clothes, bags, shoes, manchester and toys. I’m not convinced it is cheaper than the main store but it’s still worth a look. On this day I picked up some vintage tablecloths and some fabric including a metre of green silk, all for under $10.

salvosbasement

Salvos Warehouse 4 Archbold Road Michinbury NSW. Open Mon – Fri 8.30am-4.30pm Sat 9.00am-1.45pm

5 Responses to “The Salvos Warehouse, Michinbury”

  1. thesensitivefoodie July 31, 2013 at 11:45 am #

    I love the cutlery! That knife is gorgeous

  2. Fiona Lenord August 2, 2013 at 11:50 am #

    I just love how comprehensive your posts are Rebecca.
    I get very excited for you and love seeing your treasures.
    This is a must go to for me! I was told about this place a while back by a friend, but couldn’t for the life me remember where she said.
    Thanks for the reminder.
    Fiona
    FRONT PORCH

    • The Hunter Gatherers August 14, 2013 at 10:17 am #

      Thanks honey. I love seeing everyone else’s finds too so please feel free to post pics on my Facebook page of any great second hand finds.

  3. Ruby November 22, 2014 at 11:51 am #

    Unfortunately the last time i visited the bargain basement at minchinbury I did not get anything as the person incharge was so rude and over pricing everything. I thought id get a price for the items i chose for around $2 each since i bought heaps the last time and only cost me under $10. She was charging me $3-$5 each for an item and i had more than 10 items. So i decided not to purchase and she then chucked all the items from the counter table to the basket. so i asked the lady if she was having a bad day and she simy replied ‘ no maybe you are’

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. OP SHOP – The Salvos Warehouse, Seven Hills | The Hunter Gatherers - January 8, 2014

    […] more customers and make them think differently about op shopping. I’ve written before about the Salvos warehouse at Michinbury, today I’ll be taking you on a tour of their Seven Hills […]

Leave a comment

