OP SHOP – The Smith Family, Blacktown

26 Apr

I hit Main street Blacktown again this time shopping at The Smith Family Store using my super powers to sniff out the best among the rest. Their front window caught my eye as I approached with some fantastic men’s business shoes on display. The shoes were all in fantastic condition in brands like Kenneth Cole, Country Road, Florshiem. unfortunately none in my husband’s size. Boo.

146

One of my prize purchases was a camel coloured crocheted cropped knit for $8 made of what I can only describe as pussycat wool. It’s incredibaly soft and feels like patting a cat or a rabbit but don’t worry it’s not real fur. I’m sorry I don’t have a photo to show you but my tactile tweenager has decided she loves it an has barely taken it off since. Like another slap in the face I washed the jumper on my machine’s delicate cycle and was horrified to find that it’s “fur” had transferred to every other item in the wash, forcing me to defluff the whole load. It looked like I’d accidentally locked a cat in the machine with the wash! So this one will be hand washed in the tub alone in future.

I also got a baby pink Seduce singlet for $2 that has such an impossible neckline that I’ll only wear it to bed. Β This is what else came home with me.

op shop April 001

Slate ASOS knit $8

Shag vest $6

Shag vest $6

op shop April 026

BNWT Leather Chancebanda hobo $14

This handbag won the prize for most exciting find of the day. I spotted it sitting on display on the shelves high above the clothes racks, it always pays to look beyond your line of sight. The bag is brand new with the swing tags still attached inside. It’s an asian made brand but the quality of the leather is beautiful and only $14!!! I love the colour and I’ve actually admired very similar bags before in my online shopping adventures. The Hobo shape is a style I keep buying again and again as its suits my size and needs.

Main st, Blacktown

Main st, Blacktown

The Smith Family Store is located at 80 Main st, Blacktown. The store stocks clothes, shoes, bags and some smaller accessories like costume jewellery. There is limited street parking on Main st but larger car parks can be found only a block away. Make sure you also check out The Anglicare op shop just down the street too.

Leave a comment

