Anglicare Dollar Day

21 Apr

Yesterday I was just wandering past the Anglicare store I posted about the other day when I was forced to duck in. Seriously I went over that place with a fine tooth comb and thought there was no point popping in again for another look so soon but then I spotted the signs plastered all over their windows – EVERYTHING $1. Yep you read right, every item in store just one buckeroo. So how could I not at least have a crack at that? Madness! In store was a shambles with half empty racks, clothes on the floor and shoppers competing with each other, as to be expected with any shop on such a massive sale. As I said I wasn’t expecting to find anything new but was surprised to pick up several new items as well buying things I’d passed over the other day.

soho

Miss Soho is one of Peeptoe‘s most popular designs, regularly walking out the door at $250 a pop. This red satin pair are sadly not my size but at only $1 surely I know someone who will love them?

grey

Country Road ivory silk camisole, Pure Hype knit, Jay Jays oatmeal T-shirt.

pinkMy kids fared well too with these cool pink holographic Dunlop Volleys, a black Von Zipper T-shirt & Rubi sandals.

blue.jpgThe soft drapey skirt (top right) is gorgeous but again not my size though I have the perfect friend in mind for it. Same fate for the teal Monsoon top with bead detail. The navy & white stripe tube skirt is a comfy fit though, win!

I love cobalt blue but this cheap K-mart top was way too big for me so I just chopped the bottom of it off & kept that piece as a matching scarf. The jersey fabric that most T-shirts are made of is perfect for altering with a pair of scissors, it doesn’t fray & after a wash or two the cut end rolls up a little giving you an instant hem. What do you think? Good save?

linen

Another save was this Melbourne brand, Digbys skirt made from Italian linen. I adore the fabric and the design of the skirt but at a size 14 was both too wide & too long for me. I contemplated getting it altered at a dressmakers so I belted it to see how it would work then it dawned on me that I could possibly wear it like this, paperbag waist style. What’s your verdict? Can I pull it off?

Twelve items for $12 = Awesome deal.

Anglicare Op Shop, Blacktown.

4 Responses to “Anglicare Dollar Day”

  1. Ozlicious April 21, 2013 at 9:22 pm #

    Bec you could pull anything off xoxo

  2. Fiona Lenord April 22, 2013 at 6:07 am #

    Paper bag look is brilliant. Your a winner.

  3. Howdy! I simply wish to give a huge thumbs up for the nice information youve gotten
    here on this post. I will probably be coming back to your blog for more soon.

  4. Anonymous July 27, 2013 at 7:08 pm #

    Hey! I just wish to give a huge thumbs up for the good
    info you will have right here on this post. I will probably be coming back
    to your blog for more soon.

Leave a comment

