For Sale: 1 x Invisibilty Cloak

21 Sep

Sometimes I think I’m invisible. Not in a super hero kind of way but really truly invisible, like I’m not even here. Cars never give way to me at roundabouts, my kids don’t seem to hear that I’ve already asked them to pick up their dirty socks for the 657th time and wonder why I’m upset, people forget they have met me before, telemarketers keep ringing me even though I’ve yelled words at them not suitable for print. Nobody listens to me, or so I thought. Apparently a number of people are actually reading this blog, commenting even. It seems that one of my lovely Followers thought my blog worthy of an award! The Versatile Blogger Award. Thank you to Mrs D’s Maunderings for nominating The Hunter Gatherers blog. Go check her out, I love her dry wit.

.

So now that I’m a celebrity (on the inside of my own eyelids) awards seem to have a flow on effect and I find myself nominated for another accolade – The Seven Things About Me award. Thank you to Edwina from Reretro for naming me as a worthy recipient. Edwina is a fellow Hunter Gatherer so if you love vintage homewares you must take a look at her blog, you can even buy from her collection!

Now part of the rules of these awards are that I have to reveal seven things about myself, so here we go…

1. I do awesome voices when reading story books to my kids.

2. I LOVE being able to pick food from my garden to prepare a meal.

3. I lip read.

4. I love to cook and have a really sweet tooth.

5. I own a vast collection of beauty products.

6. I used to be a dancer.

7. I hate eggs so going out for breakfast at a cafe is a painful experience

These awards encourage Blog exposure, so here are my top Blog recs. Reading the above list validates my choices here. Seek them out, I hope you enjoy reading them as much as I do.

The Beauty Philosopher

The Pink Powder Puff

Whole Larder Love

Raspberri Cupcakes

Indigo Kir Royale

Quiet Vintage Sewing

Ruskin Days

17 Responses to “For Sale: 1 x Invisibilty Cloak”

  1. Fiona Lenord September 21, 2012 at 7:46 pm #

    I love reading your blog. You are very visible to me. I am so going to check out the Preston markets soon.
    Congratulations !!!!!

  2. Chardelle September 21, 2012 at 8:00 pm #

    Congratulations Bec! That’s awesome. I think I already own an invisibility cloak, especially at a deli counter. You can turn up 20 mins after me and still get served first. Well done on the nominations, fingers crossed for you xx

    • The Hunter Gatherers September 21, 2012 at 8:29 pm #

      Bahahahaha!! and you are tall. I thought it was a short person dilemma?

  3. lorraine Forbes September 21, 2012 at 8:19 pm #

    And you have the hide to say that Im strange….. (and odd, and exccentric, and off, and bizzare and, and, and, ) and Im your Mother.

  4. Ruskin Days September 21, 2012 at 9:02 pm #

    Yep, I have one of those cloaks too… Thanks for linking to my blog! I do the Preston Market too now and then for the old gross bananas 🙂

  5. Trish Blair September 21, 2012 at 9:15 pm #

    Thanks so much for the nomination! I will trawl your blog tomorrow x

  6. reretro September 21, 2012 at 9:47 pm #

    you were going to teach me the ancient art of treasure finding…passed onto you from your forebearers…so much for being invisible – you are a font of knowledge and i love your blog and insights.

    • The Hunter Gatherers September 22, 2012 at 7:33 am #

      Honey, I see you are already have quite the eye for spotting treasures in the trash 😉

      • reretro September 22, 2012 at 7:03 pm #

        i can always talk about treasure hunting- and always learn more about it! i am relatively new to the world of retro/vintage and can learn a great deal from your expertise…i will follow you avidly!

      • The Hunter Gatherers October 2, 2012 at 3:21 pm #

        Did you know that The Hunter Gatherers also has a Facebook page? I leave lots of little tips on there in between posts here.

      • reretro October 2, 2012 at 4:05 pm #

        i do know! tips are good, and i will follow avidly!

  7. mrsdsmaunderings September 22, 2012 at 8:58 am #

    You are most welcome 🙂
    I too feel invisible sometimes – that’s _why I started blogging 😉

  8. The Beauty Philosopher September 30, 2012 at 3:01 pm #

    Congratulations! Very much deserved. And thank you for mentioning my little blog. xx

  9. Indigo Kir Royale October 16, 2012 at 10:28 am #

    Congratulations to you indeed!

    Thanks so much for including me in your list of recommendations – such an honour! ^_^ I, too, know how it feels when it seems as though no one in the world is listening, and blogging to me is just a great way to share my thoughts about things I love. It’s a wonderful feeling to get page views on it LOL and a bonus when a reader makes a positive comment or shares his/her love of what you blog about.

    Happy blogging! 😉

Leave a comment

