Prestons Trash & Treasure Markets

26 Aug

I come from a long line of Hunter Gatherers. Many people attribute the skill to hunt down the treasure amongst the trash, as luck or a good eye but in fact it is something you need to learn how to do. I learnt how from my parents and I teach my own offspring the Hunter Gatherer way. My father is a man who loves the thrill of the hunt. He looks forward to leaving at the crack of dawn to track down garage sales and second hand markets across the district. He races through stalls at break neck speed scanning for treasures and competing with fellow early bird hunters for the worm, which in his case may be a vintage fishing reel. One of the regular second hand markets he used to take the family to on a weekend was the Grand Bazaar – Prestons Trash & Treasure market. Its not exactly local to us and as other markets have sprung up closer we had forgotten it. Last week my dad called to invite me on a weekday trip to Prestons, yes a second hand market mid week! So three generations of Hunter Gatherers – my parents, my sister, her three year old and moi, set off to see what we could find.

A mid week second hand market is bound to be full of dealers/regular stall holders. Casuals selling in a garage sale capacity are more likely to be found at the weekend market. We prefer the latter type of stall holder for better items and cheaper prices, after all these people don’t want to take all their stuff home with them. We tend to bypass the dealers most of the time. I must say that I was surprised by the relaxed environment at Prestons on the Wednesday. All the stall holders I dealt with were friendly and haggled down their prices willingly. Prices across the market were mid to low range so if you are looking for a bargain, it will be here. The Wednesday market was maybe half the size of the Sunday market yet it still took me nearly two hours to complete.

We picked up 3 of these old school pencil sharpeners for $25

Lots of stalls were selling CDs and DVDs from $1 a piece. My partner loves searching for CDs at markets to add to his ginormous iTunes collection. I always struggle to remember what he already owns, so I was relieved when he said he only had one of the three CDs I picked for him. At a dollar a CD, its no drama. I was excited to purchase a blue glazed ceramic bird for $5. I’d seen an identical one only 2 weeks prior at Rozelle market but I’d been distracted and forgot to buy it. On second thought… maybe I do have luck?

I haggled this bag down to $3. Someone had plaited all the loose threads but I like them wild, so I am slowly undoing them. I plan to hang it on the wall as art.

Prestons Trash & Treasure market is held every Wednesday and Sunday from 8am til 4pm. Look for the big Grand Bazaar building on Camden Valley Way. There is ample parking behind the grounds and several food outlets on site. There are no ATMs on site or near by, so make sure you bring enough cash.

11 Responses to “Prestons Trash & Treasure Markets”

  1. Karen August 27, 2012 at 4:01 am #

    I am not a Hunter Gatherer at all but I love reading about your wonderful adventures on the weekends to all these amazing markets. It inspires me to give it a try. Your blog is amazing and reading it is certainly one of the things I love to do.

    • The Hunter Gatherers August 27, 2012 at 1:59 pm #

      Awww thank you Karen. Its great to know someone is reading my blog, sometimes I feel like I’m talking to myself! LOL

  2. The Beauty Philosopher August 27, 2012 at 11:31 am #

    I thought of you HG when I found a Shona Joy top in my local op shop for $6. And my size! I also picked up a vintage ivory beaded evening purse, a pink merino David Jones brand crew neck short sleeved sweater and a mint and white breezy cotton sundress.

    • The Hunter Gatherers August 27, 2012 at 1:57 pm #

      Whoo! Great buys TBP they all sound divine. I also have a thrifted Shona Joy top, great minds as they say. Thanks for sharing I love hearing everyone’s finds.

  3. empressnasigoreng August 27, 2012 at 2:40 pm #

    Cool. Thanks for this. I made out like a bandit at my favourite op shop on Friday (Asquith Lifeline). Have yet to blog about it though – waiting until I have some photos.

  4. reretro August 28, 2012 at 5:10 pm #

    i am intrigued by your descriptions of how to find treasures….would you elaborate further in a future post? and i love the pencil sharpeners…so nostalgic!

  5. Trish Blair September 21, 2012 at 9:14 pm #

    That is a great Bilum!

Leave a comment

