Blaxland Op Shops

6 Jul

I love visiting op shops in country areas, they seem to always be laden with fantastic vintage items particularly homewares. One of our favourite day trips is to meander through the Blue Mountains, NSW. You can spend the whole day or whole weekend even, exploring the amazing National Parks (second largest canyon in the world after the Grand Canyon) browsing in unique boutiques and eating some fabulous food along the way. I highly recommend it.

Blackheath, Blue Mountains

Blaxland is one of the first towns along the Great Western Highway as you begin to ascend the mountain. Don’t be in too much of a rush to race to the top or you will miss all the little gems along the way. The little strip of shops that line the Highway at Blaxland is home to three op shops and I managed to hunt down great finds in each one. We almost outdid ourselves in the first op shop, Bibles for Mission. There were so many retro homewares to be had that I was contemplating starting a collection! Crocheted tablecloths, vintage tea towels, Fondue anyone? Don’t worry I left lots of great items for others to find. I restrained myself to a white melamine Bessemer butter dish $2.50 from the early seventies. A good wooden spoon 50c, how hard is it to find a good one! 6 white rice bowls for $6. The find of the day was this set of 8 BBQ plates for only $5. These are Ornamin Ware Melmac from the sixties. I picked them up for a laugh but my partner snatched them from stating they would be perfect for his BBQ! They are in great condition.

Ornamin Ware Melmac BBQ plates

The Cancer Help Op Shop had a great selection of books and they are selling them for next to nothing. Three books for one measly dollar, madness! If you an avid reader you really must have a look in your local op shop. Prices range up to $5 for hardcovers. Why pay more than $30 retail? Most books are in excellent condition, only read once then discarded. What a waste of paper. Do your bit for the environment and your wallet and buy a second hand book.

A huge event in the Blue Mountains is Christmas in July. Well now after hitting our last stop along the Blaxland strip, St Vinnies I’m rearing to go. I purchased a matching set of christmas themed tableware for a grand total of $11, oh and some festive fairy lights for $3. Ho Ho Ho!

11 Responses to “Blaxland Op Shops”

  1. Vintage Living Magazine July 6, 2012 at 7:33 pm #

    Sounds like a wonderful road trip and shopping excursion! Thanks for sharing. 🙂

  2. mancunianvintage July 8, 2012 at 4:02 am #

    Great haul you got there!

  3. empressnasigoreng August 5, 2012 at 11:08 am #

    I’m very happy to find your blog as I am a Sydney op shop afficianado too. My two favourite op shop ‘hot spots’ in Sydney are Asquith and Rockdale. Always happy for new suggestions though!

    • The Hunter Gatherers August 13, 2012 at 7:49 pm #

      Lovely to meet you too. I’d love details on your fave op shops so I can pop in should I happen to find myself in those areas. My regular haunts are Western Sydney but I’ll try to duck into any op shop I pass anywhere!

      • empressnasigoreng August 14, 2012 at 9:44 am #

        Asquith has three in a row in a little strip of the Princes Hwy. One is the Bible Society which is quite huge and has things like LP records for $1 each. Further back towards Hornsby is the Lifeline shop which is pricier than Bible Society but has an excellent collection of books (about half the shop, I think) as well as more upmarket clothing. Then there is a Seventh Day Adventist one a little bit further back towards the Coles. That is a tiny shop, packed to the gills with all sorts of things (including new Sanitarium food products). Very mixed quality but super cheap, eg, I think I paid about $2 for a pair of Jag jeans last time I was there. If you want more upmarket, there are posher, boutiquey type Vinnies stores in Turramurra and Gordon and another, larger and cheaper one in St Ives. You are looking at probably $10 and up per clothing item at any of these. They do tend to have good stuff though, including European designer gear.
        I haven’t been to Rockdale for quite a while but that had a Smith Family, a Vinnies, a Salvos and I think an Anglicare all within a couple of blocks of one another. If you are in that area, it is also worth a trip to the massive Salvos drop off place at at Tempe. that is more like an op warehouse than an op shop. I bought some fantastic re-conditioned/checked kitchen appliances there, eg, an orange 70s Sunbeam electric mixer that works perfectly and looks great.

      • The Hunter Gatherers August 14, 2012 at 11:20 am #

        Oh my! Just reading your recs Empressnasigoreng makes me want to jump in the car and go hunting! I’m more than a little excited at checking those stores out LOL Thanks so much for the info. I plan to write posts on my local stores by area, so stay tuned. Thanks again xx

      • empressnasigoreng August 14, 2012 at 2:23 pm #

        I should start blogging on this topic too. I probably need photographs though.

  4. The Beauty Philosopher August 5, 2012 at 11:19 am #

    I love buying op shop books. I often pick up classics that have been on my must read list for years. I recently bought The Shipping News and some of my all time favourite book finds have included a 1920’s American high school year book and some girls own type readers from the 50’s and 60’s.

    • The Hunter Gatherers August 13, 2012 at 7:47 pm #

      Wow! Great find on the year book. I have a stack of old photography magazines from the 50s & 60s.

Leave a comment

