Hunter Gathering on the Sunshine Coast QLD

22 Jan

Recently we were lucky enough to stay with friends on the Sunshine Coast. Great hosts that they are, they not only shared their beautiful house with us, fed us, chauffered us around town and entertained us, they also took us to their local markets.

Every Saturday morning between 7am-12pm Currimundi locals can stock up on locally grown produce at the Kawana Waters Farmers Market . This is a small market but concise in its choice of stallholders, it has everything you want from a Farmer’s market – a selection of fresh fruit & vegetables, seafood, meat, flowers, honey, free range eggs and home-made jam without having to scan 50+ stalls. We sipped on coffee & hot chocolates from Red Dog Coffee while stocking up on juicy peaches & nectarines, crisp sugar snap peas, Lebanese cucumbers and plump sweet cherry tomatoes. We also got some yummy freshly baked pretzel buns and jam filled donuts from the German Bakery. The kids got their version of a cheese and bacon roll where the roll has a slight pretzel flavour. We want more!

The next morning we set out again for another market fix. On Sundays the main shopping strip in Caloundra is closed off to make way for market stalls. The Bulcock st Market runs from 8am-1pm every Sunday. This is your run of the mill type market selling all the usual market fare – mass-produced goods, hand-made items, fast food stalls, chinese massage and a jumping castle for the kids. There are no second hand items here nor anything really unique but I was excited to be able to repurchase some locally made curry pastes that I had discovered whilst holidaying in Noosa last year. Life’s Good Curry Pastes are among the best and most authentic curry pastes I’ve found yet, and believe me I’ve tried a lot! Not only did I repurchase my favourites but got a few as gifts and just had to have the latest additions to the range. What can I say? I love them and I highly recommend you try them. Not on the Sunshine Coast? They have an online store so no excuses!  The site also offers some great recipes for cooking curry paste options outside the square. Worth a look.

Bulcock st market

My dear friend was keen for me to show her the ropes at her local op shops, so off we head again to Bulcock st Caloundra. There are quite a few stores to hunt – Red Cross, St Vinnies, Salvos and a preloved designer store among them. Two distinct differences struck me about these stores compared to those back home. Firstly the items for sale were all clean and the stores very well laid out. I’m used to the haphazard mess and overstocked nature of op shops, so to walk into Anglicare and almost mistake it for a homewares store because it was also selling new stock was somewhat confusing. I love the chaos! Secondly I think the extra effort they invest in merchandising the stores pushes their prices up. Across the board all the stores had higher pricing compared to what I’m used to, in fact the only other place I’d expect to pay premium in a public op shop is in trendy areas, like Mosman or Newtown not regional Caloundra? Some secondhand clothing was almost Recommended Retail? Still despite the obstacles my eagle eye never failed me. I came home laden with lots of great buys including a Kit Willow dress with the tag still attached for a mere $26. My friend also struck gold finding THE perfect black jumpsuit, she wore it on New Years Eve and was showered with compliments.

Leave a comment

