Hello world!

8 May

Welcome to our life. A snippet anyway. I love snippets, little peaks at other possibilities, glimpses of time, a slice of history. History is another favourite concept. I especially love the idea of an object being immersed in history.  Having a past life so to speak. Tumbling through time, past from hand to hand. Its one of the reasons I love buying preloved goods, which is exactly why I created this blog. Here you can follow us on our adventures to the wonderful world of flea markets and op shops. 

Allow me to introduce The Hunter Gatherers. We are a family of 5 from Sydney, Australia. We love nothing more than heading out early on the weekend to our favourite markets. For us it’s a full sensory experience, the atmosphere, the food, the live music, the beautiful surrounds and of course the hunt for treasure. During the week I often visit my local op shops and I have an obsessive urge to scour any I find in my travels, you just never know what you might find in there! Garage sales are more an impulse drive- by possibility and we’re not above reclaiming abandoned items from the side of the road. We give these unwanted items a new life by revamping them with a lick of paint, re-dying faded colours, tailoring or just re-appropriating their use. We don’t have to be precious with them as they didn’t cost us a fortune and we feel good about recycling somebody else’s rubbish in a world obsessed with excess.

Some people wonder why you would want to wear a stranger’s clothes or read a book that’s been thumbed by who knows how many people before you? Some screw up their noses or give a pitying look. That attitude, I think is a fear of germs or the stigma that buying second-hand is only for poor people. Personally it’s never been an issue for me. I’ve grown up surrounded by other people’s things. Dragged around to auction houses, markets and garage sales for a large part of my childhood by my parents who love to collect Australian history. For them it was always about objects – furniture, home wares, art & oddities. In my late teens I began visiting op shops to dress myself, not only was it cheap but cheap enough to take daring risks. Being able to slash a pair of jeans is very liberating and if it didn’t work out then the $5 spent was a lesson learned if nothing else. Finally I realised this was a way I could be free from the constraints of what was on offer in retail shops and wear clothes none of my friends were wearing. I was hooked. Then as I moved out of home, preloved items furnished my house. Other people’s reactions have evolved over the years as buying “vintage” has become mainstream. Now praise & envy glow back at me when I tell someone where I got my fabulous jacket. 

Sound like your kinda fun? Hit the subscribe button to follow us on our Hunting expeditions.

 xxx Bec

 

3 Responses to “Hello world!”

  1. EJFLO May 9, 2011 at 9:33 pm #

    Thanks for showing me the ropes all those years ago and the many treasures that have been sent my way…. Love the thrill of the chase xxx

  2. ShellBell May 10, 2011 at 10:09 pm #

    You are, and always will be, my preloved inspiration. x

  3. Rosie May 13, 2011 at 5:57 pm #

    Awesome first post Bec! I grew up wearing hand-me-downs and op shop clothes, and to this day, some of my favourite items are op shop finds.

Leave a comment

